top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrista Wyrocki

Welcome to Words of Serendipity!

A year ago, I was in a class that wasn't quite what I was expecting it to be: "Learning and Cognitive Science." In that class, we learned about the word "serendipity," which for everybody who doesn't know the definition, it can be defined as "the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way." When thinking about what to name this blog, the word "serendipity" was stuck in my head and eventually when thinking about how writing a novel and creating a blog wasn't exactly in the plans for this summer but it happily came my way, I decided upon the name Words of Serendipity.


So welcome!


As explained in another part of my website, creative writing has always been a part of who I am. When I was in elementary school, I filled up at least one hundred notebooks with different stories and ideas and just had a desire to create characters and worlds for everybody to enjoy. Though the passion sometimes is in the background- it is life after all, we all get distracted and off track sometimes- this summer I was really able to sit down, focus, and think about what I want to do with my life. One day, I was sitting in a coffee shop in Kansas City, when a random idea hit. I started typing on my laptop, and eventually, I had a prologue written for a novel I had no intention of writing; from there, I had no idea where it was going to go.


That same day, the ideas kept flowing and by the end of my time in the coffee shop, I had a prologue and two chapters written.


That was back in May, and it is now July, and I have developed a plot for not only this novel, which is now named Chaos, but for two other novels to eventually follow it in a trilogy. This is where my decision to make a blog came from: I have never been one to put my work out there, and I am finally ready to do that. I love where this is heading, and I want to share it with everybody.



Enjoy this terrible mock cover for it


Words of Serendipity isn't just for my novels though. I want to make this blog a place where people can not only (hopefully) enjoy my writing, but a place where people can come to for other things as well. After exploring this blog, you'll see some pages where I talk about traveling, short stories, book reviews, and articles on different things like love, health, exercise, and life in general. All of this will be on here too! Some of the first things I will be posting in the upcoming weeks will be my prologue for "Chaos," a book review on "Big Little Lies," an article about my time in Venice from last semester, and an article on a topic that's really important to me: mental health.


I am really excited to see where this goes, but I can't do it without you guys! Please subscribe to my blog below to stay up to date with what's happening on Words of Serendipity! If you follow me on Instagram, I will keep you guys updated there as well!


Thanks for reading!





19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page